In The News

Thank You To Our Most Recent Renewing Members

Posted: July 25, 2017

This week's renewing members are Allen Cooper, Kevin Klein, Michael Phibbs, Randy Repola, William Rockensock and Walt Vanatta. We are glad they are here for another year!

Did your membership expire at the end of June? Renew today by logging into your profile and clicking "renew."

If you have questions, please reach out to [email protected]


UCCS Hosts Free Training On August 9

Posted: July 25, 2017

You are invited to attend the presentation 'The Importance of Mindset in Policing’ by Major Charles “Chip” Huth, Commander of the Kansas City Police Department’s Special Operations Division. Please see event information here. To confirm attendance, please reply to: [email protected].


Evans & Town Of Johnstown Police Departments Needs Your Input

Posted: July 24, 2017

Chief Rick Brandt from Evans Police Department is seeking your input on fireworks post July 4, and Chief Brian Phillips from Town of Johnstown Police Department is seeking input on pay step plans.

Please login to your CACP account and offer your input to Chief Brandt here, and Chief Phillips here.


This Week's CACP Sponsor In The Spotlight: DLR Group

Posted: July 24, 2017

We'd like to thank DLR Group for its continued support of CACP. This year at the 2017 Annual Conference, they were a Diamond Sponsor at the Awards Dinner. DLR Group believes integrated design is the practice of early collaboration in order to produce sustainable design excellence. Thank you DLR Group.


Congratulations To The 2017 CACP Award Recipients 

Posted: July 20, 2017

This year there were great stories told about the recipients of the 2017 CACP awards during the Annual Conference in Colorado Springs. 

The awards review committee, chaired by Chief Dan Brennan of Wheat Ridge, included Chief John Camper (Grand Junction), Chief John Mackey (Edgewater), Chief Kimberly Stewart (Erie), Chief Dennis McLaughlin (Breckenridge) and Chief Chris Heberer (Fountain).

This year there were more nominations and in more categories than in past years. The committee reviewed all nominations and compared them with the criteria for each. This was a lengthy process and CACP thanks the committee members for their time and effort.

Executive Awards

Charles K. “Pat” Steele Award- Given for Long Term Professional and Ethical Contributions to Law Enforcement and the People of Colorado as a Colorado Chief of Police. Two recipients:

  • Chief Jerry Garner, Greeley Police Department 
  • Chief Gary Barbour, Frederick Police Department 

Ralph Smith Professional Innovation Award- Presented to a Colorado Law Enforcement agency Chief Executive for innovative program implementation, which contributed to making Colorado a better and safer place to live.

  • Chief Mike Butler, Longmont Police Department 
American Spirit Award- Given to an agency serving less than 10,000 population (and to its chief executive) for professional contributions to Law Enforcement while limited in resources, manpower and finances.
  • Breckenridge Police Department (Chief Dennis R. McLaughlin)
Pioneer Policing Award- Given to a Colorado Law Enforcement Agency, which has pioneered a totally innovative program, policy or concept not knowingly used elsewhere, to further the professionalism of Law Enforcement and/or the service to citizens.
  • Cañon City Police Department 

Officer Awards

CACP Valor Award- The award is given to any certified Police Officer in the State of Colorado, for performance while on or off duty. Any reserve or part-time certified Police Officer while serving a department on duty. Performance of a deed, above and beyond the policies and procedures of any department or agency, which results in the saving of a human life, or which placed the officer in extreme peril of his/her life. There are two different agencies with officers receiving the Valor Award.

  • Golden Police Department - Sergeant Chad St Aubin, Detective Eric Jones and Detective Corky Kloberdance
  • Grand Junction Police Department - Corporal Ryan Piotrowski 
Police Officer of the Year Award- Given for exception achievement in any police endeavor, either on-duty or off-duty, including extraordinary valor, crime prevention, investigative work, community policing, traffic safety, drug control and prevention, juvenile programs and training programs.
  • Sergeant Chad St. Aubin (Golden Police Department)

Citizen Awards

“Mike Silva” Citizen Involvement Award- Given to a Colorado Citizen who without regard for their own wellbeing, became involved in assisting the Police Department.

  • Bransen Lewis, Wayne Patino and Derrick Mansfield (Golden Police Department)

Citizen Volunteer of the Year Award- Given to a Colorado Citizen who, without other compensation, distinguishes themselves through long term and selfless volunteer work for a Colorado Law Enforcement Agency. There were two recipients this year.

  • Laird Peale (Grand Junction Police Department)
  • Rick Collier (Vail Police Department)

Congratulations to all recipients and thank you for your service.

<< first < Prev 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 Next > last >>

Page 54 of 84